Baker named PTK Faculty Scholar

Baker named PTK Faculty Scholar Picture

Richard Baker has been selected as Co-Lin’s Phi Theta Kappa 2018-2019 Faculty Scholar. Since 1996, Co-Lin’s Eta Omega Chapter has honored instructors who share their knowledge and themselves with students inspiring them to set high goals and to be the very best that they can be.

Baker has been a member of the Co-Lin faculty since 2010 and currently serves as Business Division Chairperson and instructor. He also serves as an advisor for Phi Beta Lambda. Baker is a graduate of Copiah-Lincoln Community College, The University of Southern Mississippi, and Mississippi College.

The purpose of Phi Theta Kappa is to recognize and encourage scholarship among two-year college students by providing an opportunity for the development of leadership and service, an intellectual climate for exchange of ideas and ideals, a fellowship for scholars and continued academic excellence.

Past recipients include Dr. Donnie Lawson, the late Dr. Phyllis Lanier, Dr. Durr Walker, Shelly Curtis, Dr. Roy Daughdrill, Carol Royals, Jane Smith, Danny Harrell, Debbie Bush, Janice Fortenberry, Tom Ross, Natalie Davis, David Higgs, Nicole Donald, Brenda Smith, Dr. Shelley Smith, Pam Reid, Dr. Stephanie Duguid, Anita Cliburn, Eddie Britt, Juanita Proffitt, Glenda Silverri and Amy Case.

CUTLINE: Richard Baker (left) receives the Eta Omega Chapter of Phi Theta Kappa’s 2018-2019 Faculty Scholar Award from Eta Omega Chapter President Mary Beth Munn of Wesson. Awards are presented annually during Co-Lin’s fall faculty meetings.

Photo by: Scarlett Hart